Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike Purchase Process for Tall Triathletes
Quote | Reply
I have been racing on a 2014 Cervelo P5 for ten years, and I am ready to purchase a new bike for next season. I am 6'5" with long legs, so my options are more limited. What is the best approach to use when buying a new bike to fit my size? I have read the posts suggesting that I work with a bike fitter. However, if I work with bike fitter A, they will recommend a Special Shiv; if I work with bike fitter B, they will recommend a Cervelo, etc. Do I simply select a brand based on some research and see if my size can be accommodated? I have reviewed the stack/reach table here, and I have seen the bike fit assistance threads.

I have been saving for several years, so I am looking at the top options. Based on reviews and targeting bikes with stacks in the 580+ range, I am looking at the Specialized Shiv Expert, the Scott Plasma 6, and the Quintana Roo V-PR. (I do not know which bikes are even available for purchase). I would love another Cervelo P5, but they no longer sell the 61 size. The largest Trek Speed Concept also appears to be too small. I am cautious of the Canyon's due to the challenges of getting them serviced in the U.S. Am I missing any other options (or considering options that I shouldn't)?
Quote Reply
Re: Bike Purchase Process for Tall Triathletes [spcasey] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Shiv bars are painful, strike that from the list
What is your saddle height? That is potentially a decider if you've got long legs
Also post your Pad XY and aerobar tilt.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Getting Canyons serviced in the US (or the world). Is a non issue. Good bike shops like working with people who are into cycling. QR's a good option too. Post up on that QR thread and let me make some recommendations.

Ian

Ian Murray
http://www.TriathlonTrainingSeries.com
I like the pursuit of mastery
Twitter - @TriCoachIan
Quote Reply