Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Arione-like road saddle recommendation
Quote | Reply
I've been riding a Fizik Arione on my road bike for 10+ years. Generally, I like the shape of the saddle a lot, but it has a few drawbacks, most notable among them being the numbness that it causes me lately. I recently had a bike fit, and the fitter recommended the Specialized Power Pro saddle. It felt fine in the fitting, so I purchased it, but after riding it now for 5-6 rides it's OK but not great. The cutout has eliminated most of the numbness I was getting with the Arione, but it's a shorter saddle so I can't move fore/aft on it like I did on the Arione and if I don't sit on it exactly right fore/aft the width and shape of the wings start to irritate my hamstrings after an hour or so of riding. So, I'm looking for a saddle that's shaped like an Arione but has a cutout.

The obvious choice would be the Fizik Arione R1 Open Regular:

http://www.fizik.com/...r1-open-regular.html

I know that this is a new saddle but I figured I'd ask... does anyone here have any experience with this saddle?

Is there a saddle in the Specialized line up that folks like that has a shape similar to the Arione? From photos, the Romin Evo Pro looks like it might have a similar width and wing shape to the Arione:

https://www.specialized.com/...n/rominevopro/130722

Anyone have any feedback on this saddle?

Also open to suggestions for other saddles with an Arione-like shape but with a cutout.

Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: Arione-like road saddle recommendation [jkatsoudas] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
 I also like the shape of the Airone but like a cutout. Specialized saddles work for me.

Power
Toupe
Romin (not evo)
Phenom

While the Power is my favorite I would recommend the Toupe if you want something more traditional.

I feel like the Romin is pushed. But the Toupe is a great saddle.

/kj

http://kjmcawesome.tumblr.com/
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply