Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Are my Carbon Clinchers about to have a structural failure?
Quote | Reply
Hi,
I've been riding a set of Corima Aero carbon clichers for 4 years now. I had already bought them used and the years start to show.

From the get-go, there was a little "pulsating" in the front wheel when braking hard. At some point I checked whether it was out of true, but I found that it was rubbing on both sides at a certain spot, which I had never seen before. I ignored it since I don't use them in races anymore and the pulsating wasn't to bad.

Now it is becoming worse and upon closer inspection it seems the cause is, that at the point where the brake is rubbing, the sidewalls seem to be bending outward slightly at the very outside edge on both sides.
So while the cross-section of the rim usually looks like this: |___|
There is one spot where it is starting to look like this: \___/
It is hardly visibly, but I definitely feel it when braking.

I fear that, on longer descends, the additional friction on the protruding part of the brake track will cause even stronger heat accumulation there, which might cause even more softening and potential further deformation and/or failure of the material in that spot...

Is it time to retire the wheels?

if you can read this
YOU'RE DRAFTING!
Last edited by: flogazo: Mar 3, 15 7:13
Quote Reply
Re: Are my Carbon Clinchers about to have a structural failure? [flogazo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That's very interesting and a strange thing to imagine with a carbon rim.

Unfortunately it's rather outside of my area of expertise, but IMO common sense would dictate that if it's getting worse then it's probably time to retire them.
Quote Reply
Re: Are my Carbon Clinchers about to have a structural failure? [flogazo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
flogazo wrote:
Hi,