Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Amanda Stevens Article
Quote | Reply
Good article. I remember reading about her a year or so ago as well. She really pushes the Doctor/MD thing and in her website/blog she lists herself as a licensed doctor. But beyond listing her medical school there isn’t anything noted about internship year or a residency. Does anyone know if she’s done any post-doctoral training? Since she lists herself as licensed, she would have at least needed 1 year as well as passing the USMLE step 3’s. Just wondering what the case was in terms of when in her training she decided to take time away.

Matt
Quote Reply
Re: Amanda Stevens Article [Pun_Times] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Why do you care? Does it make her any different as an athlete?

Trust me I’m a doctor!
Well, I have a PhD :-)
Quote Reply
Re: Amanda Stevens Article [PhilipShambrook] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
He just wants to know if she is misrepresenting herself. Can people not ask questions?

Make Inside Out Sports your next online tri shop! http://www.insideoutsports.com/
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I think most states have an online database you can look up and see who is licensed...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I don't believe she lists herself as licensed. On her blog site it simply says Amanda Stevens, MD which means she graduated medical school. Nothing more, nothing less. Having a medical degree doesn't mean anything in the actual practice of medicine, though. On the USMLE website it states that step 3 is the "final examination. . .leading to the license to practice medicine without supervision." Hope that helps.
Last edited by: Trisumai: Nov 26, 15 13:23
Quote Reply
Re: Amanda Stevens Article [PhilipShambrook] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
PhilipShambrook wrote:
Why do you care? Does it make her any different as an athlete?

Why do you care that I care? Does it make me any different as a slowtwitch poster?