Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Almost total Newbie with questions
Quote | Reply
Hi, I’m the newest newbie. I’m a former bike racer who hasn’t done really much of anything over the last 4 or 5 years, except drink a lot of beer and put on about 20 pounds. I did one triathlon the summer after I stopped racing bikes and did pretty well. I got 4th in my age group but it was mainly because I had the 3rd or 4th fastest bike of the day and it was done strictly on residual fitness. I have a couple of young children who don’t require as much care as they did a year or two ago. I thought of going back to racing bike but the thought of doing the same old industrial park crits isn’t as attractive as it once was. I guess I need some new challenges. I have always thought that I would love to do IM Hawaii but at 45 years old that thought may be starting to become unrealistic. I do, however, want to do an Ironman in the next year or two. So I guess my question is; where do I start. How do I begin?
Quote Reply
Re: Almost total Newbie with questions [CouchPotato2] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Wow, talk about a loaded question. First, you can do both Road Racing and Triathlons. Second, start running, swimming and biking. Even better, go out tonight and start. Starting is the hardest part. Once you get past that you'll slowly start to figure things out. Don't over do it in your first few weeks/months of training. Just get out and enjoy a run, bike, or swim. Nothing long, just start with 30 min. and go up or down from there.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
http://www.active.com/...mp;category=give_tri

I started here.

Depending on your fitness, you may want to skip the first few weeks of this plan. Personally, I only used it for about four weeks and then got a better feel for how I wanted to train, it was the information in general that was the most help to me.

------------------------------------------------------------