Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Aerobar Help Needed
Quote | Reply
So I bought a new (to me) tri bike last week and noticed the aerobar was loose. I didn't look too closely as I was excited to ride it (first tri bike). I finally remembered to tighten it before riding and was surprised to find everything was nice and snug. Upon closer inspection it looks as if the aerobar has broken (yellow highlighted circle in the picture). It's strange in that the break is so clean it looks as if it was cut. I'm assuming there is a joint there that was welded together during production, or something along those lines. I am new to the sport and know nothing about aerobars so my question(s) for you guys are:

Is this something that can be fixed? It's aluminum and I know that can be a pain to weld.
If it can't be fixed, what are my options?
Can I replace just the bars or do I need to replace the aerobars/handlebars as a kit?

I believe these are considered integrated aerobars as opposed to clip on aerobars. Cost is a big concern (it's an older Specialized Transition Comp, aluminum frame). I spent some time looking into aerobars this morning and don't want to spend $800 for bars on a $500 bike. Are there any reasonably priced new options? Are there any used options you guys would recommend?

Thanks for any help you can offer as I am a bit lost on this one!

Quote Reply
Re: Aerobar Help Needed [Toefuzz] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Did you try contacting the manufacturer and sending them the picture? It may be a shot to see if they can help you out....
Quote Reply
Re: Aerobar Help Needed [Jimster] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Jimster wrote:
Did you try contacting the manufacturer and sending them the picture? It may be a shot to see if they can help you out....

I have not... it's an older bike so I figured they would just laugh. Still, it's worth a shot. I'll take a look at it tonight and see who made them.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply