Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Adjusting cadence on CompuTrainer
Quote | Reply
An athlete I coach does a lot of his rides on the CT but I've never used one before so not up to speed on the modes and settings. I want to work on increasing his cadence hopefully without making immediate big jumps. He says shifting one gear takes him from 80 to 90rpm for the particular power output I had him doing today. Isn't there a mode on the CT where you can program the power resistance you want it to maintain and it will adjust to your cadence? That should allow him to increase cadence in a any increment without changing gears while still maintaining the target power. I assume we'd need to program the specific workout into the CT though? The goal would be to have him do something like a 20min interval at FTP and periodically alternate between his natural cadence and 3-5rpm increase.
Quote Reply
Re: Adjusting cadence on CompuTrainer [TH3_FRB] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Yes, put the CompuTrainer into Erg mode. It keeps power constant and allows you to adjust all other parameters.

https://enduranceworks.net/...trainer-in-erg-mode/
Quote Reply
Re: Adjusting cadence on CompuTrainer [beston] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
So in Erg mode you just set it for 200w and pedal as fast or slow as you want and it maintains constant power? Can you change the power target on the fly or do we need to program the workout and load a file for the CT to follow?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Yes.
Yes, you can change on the fly. No programming skills required;) A quote about ERG mode from the link I provided above:
  • "Use the Blue + and – button to increase and decrease wattage which is displayed on right upper corner of console. The wattage number controls the resistance on the fly wheel and make the effort easier or harder."

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Yes. It gets easier ( ish) with a higher cadence and harder with a lower cadence as the power is constant.