Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: 5 years of swimming with little progress [aerobike] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
aerobike wrote:
Unswimmer wrote:
I'm in my fifth year of triathlon and I'm at my rope's end with swimming. I have an ftp 4w/kg, have run sub 3:00 marathons, but still hang around 2:00/100yd average in the pool. I understand that swimming is much more about skill, which I clearly lack. Three years ago I tried a six session group class in Total Immersion, which didn't stick. I've taken multiple private lessons with a TI coach, and nothing really clicked. Balance in the water is a problem, as I sink like a brick. The same with kicking; no matter how hard/long I work on kicking, I just can't get it. Kicking just a 25 burns out my legs. I've been logging 4-5 swims per week for the past several months, and little progress has been made. I'm easily a BOP swimmer, but not due to lack of effort. If I could just find a way to churn out even average swim times, I could actually stand a chance to be competitive in my age group. Any programs/books/methods I should check out? I know it's a general question, but I'm desperate for anything.

Here's a simple way to get really good at swimming for purposes of triathlon. Go swim 15K every single week. For one year. 52 weeks. No drills. No sets. Don't worry about your form. Just swim. Use a pull buoy as much as you like, if not for all and every part of your swims. If after 3-4 months or so you want to increase to 18K, 21K, do so. But you will get good on 15K (and certainly good enough to be competitive). Enjoy the journey. Test your fitness once every month or two. But really don't worry about your times. Swim 15K every week. Report back in 1 year.