Prescient good advice you've received

I’ll start

“Never bang a chick with less to lose than you.”

Old boss who was divorced several times

Don’t bother with what you wear, never let people know how much money you have… I’m worth eight figure and i have a hole in my crotch and this shirt is 10 years old.

Guy at trading firm i worked at right after college

My Dad: two things you never lend… your wife and your car.

1 Like

Oddly enough from my step father, not long before I graduated high school.

Never give a fuck about what other people think about you. Be yourself.

He and I never got along, but I’ll be damned if that wasn’t best advice I’d probably ever received.

Don’t eat yellow snow. - Mom

…never let people know how much money you have.

Follows by saying how much money he has…

That’s funny. Guy tells you he is worth eight figure and then tells you you shouldn’t tell people how much money you have. I guess I should have read Blep first.

In University Dr. Yeats told me… Go as far as you can as fast as you can because once you have a wife and kids its is harder to advance.

Don’t burn you bridges.

What does that mean, be yourself. My authentic self, I spent a lot of effort trying to not be that guy.

From my dad when he first met my wife when we were still dating

“Get her pregnant before she dumps you. Nutella men don’t get women like that”.

2 Likes

I took it mean don’t change who I am to impress someone else. It was a strange conversation, it the first time I recall him ever using the “F” word in conversation with me. I haven’t seen him in 35+ years but that advice has always stuck in my head.

I too spent a lot of years trying to be someone different. But I ended coming back around to myself, and my life has been great ever since.

“We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be.” Kurt Vonnegut, Mother Night

Take suggestions in the spirit in which they are made. — from a camp counselor when I was about 12.