Work and training for IM

So I’m a nurse and work 12 hour shifts. When you factor in preparing for work, the drive to and from and then the after work routine, it pretty much takes 14+ hours a day. On my work days, I don’t do any training. It just adds too much time to my day, time I already don’t have.

That leaves me with 4 days a week that I hit it pretty hard. I’ve been doing pretty well like that for the last couple years, but the most I’ve done so far is a 70.3. This year I plan to finish a full IM.

Now, I think I can train plenty hard enough on just my four days to be fit enough to finish an IM. But I prefer to work three in a row and have four in a row off. But thinking about it, I think I might be better served in my training if I worked 2, then had a day off for training, then my 3rd day, then three off.

Where I work I have the ability to request the days I want to work and, for the most part, I get the days I request. So getting, for instance, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, or a similar combination, should be pretty similar.

What’s everybody’s take on the idea?

Depends on your background, fitness, and possibly age in case that limits recovery/ability to handle load on consecutive days. Assuming no kids as you don’t mention that…

You can probably finish a full IM without too many changes to whatever you’re doing for 70.3s.

If you want to do well or at least run the marathon, then sure, adjust the training to include IM-specific stuff, and yeah, I’d probably go with 2 and 1 days of work.

So I’m a nurse and work 12 hour shifts. When you factor in preparing for work, the drive to and from and then the after work routine, it pretty much takes 14+ hours a day. On my work days, I don’t do any training. It just adds too much time to my day, time I already don’t have.