Wireless shifting hack / jamming

I work in tech so I’m only surprised this wasn’t done sooner against eTap.

https://www.wired.com/story/shimano-wireless-bicycle-shifter-jamming-replay-attacks/

Should be fun on my next group ride!

Another argument for sticking with my old school wired Ultegra Di2.

The firmware update may prevent taking control of your derailleur, but I don’t see how it will address someone using a jammer. So the pro peleton will probably continue to have wired setups available.

Agree, the jamming attack is almost certainly not patchable. The paper also mentions eavesdropping on ANT+. It seems like that’s something pro teams could be quite interested in. Imagine the UAE team car having a real time feed of Vingegaard’s heart rate and power output.

I bet Joe Grand could build a module that is small enough to be hidden inside a rider’s radio unit (or elsewhere), captures other riders ANT+ and relays the data to the team car. You could also just have a couple people with HackRFs on sections of the major climbs, capturing data and agreed upon code words for actions. “The pizza is ready”; attack.

The ANT+ protocol does support AES encryption but it’s an optional feature as I recall.

Eavesdropping on ANT+ is old and easy. I do it with a WASP for around 10 years now. The frequencies of SRAM and Shimano wireless stuff are narrow and known, jamming is easy.

https://youtu.be/jWkMhCLkVOg?si=r6lAcMdtUQN_9u2C

Using encryption increases power consumption and so it’s reasonable to guess that most device manufacturers, who make the heart rate monitors or power meters, probably don’t do much in the way of encryption. (Based on your comments, I am sure you two know that but just stating it for sake of conversation.)