What to build first? Speed or endurance?

Im fairly new to this sport and trying to learn as much as I can here.

I cant seem to find a thread regarding what to build first, speed or endurance.
If you know of one can you please share it here. Would love to read it in my downtime.

I am curious whats the “best” way to train for a half distance triathlon?

Do you build your speed first and slowly build endurance as the race slowly approaches?
or
Do you build endurance and rack hours in the off season and slow sprinkle the speed later?

Thank you

Get fast first then go long.

There’s a reason the traditional pathway in triathlon is short course (fast) > long course (long).

Probably need more specifics on what you’re wanting. In general I would say build endurance first then speed. Build speed first could easily lead to injury because there’s no base developed in any body support/functioning systems. Tendons, bones, muscles, etc… or you could work on both at the same time?

I just want to be finish fast in Half distance.
What type of specifics are you looking for?

If you try to build “speed” before you have endurance, you’ll likely end up hurting yourself and have to take time off from training. Being consistent matters more than any nuanced shmancy training plan, and it would be essentially impossible for a beginner to train consistently using mainly “speed work.”

Build a “base” with endurance work, so you can eventually get through some decent sets of intervals without failing prematurely or injuring yourself, especially in running.

Basically define for yourself how much time per week you have to train and do mostly endurance-paced efforts that don’t keep from being able to recover for the next workout, and continue this habit for three months or so before you get into vo2max or threshold intervals.

Look no further than the articles on slowtwitch:

https://www.slowtwitch.com/Training/General_Training/The_High_Cost_of_Good_Form_3273.html