Tubeless disc wheel maintenance

So I’m thinking of converting my disc wheel to tubeless. Thing is though as discs are predominantly race day only what do people do from a tubeless maintenance perspective?

Do you have to take the disc out every few weeks and give it a spin to make sure the sealent doesn’t settle and harden in the bottom of the wheel etc? Do you still have to top up the sealent every few months? Anything else? I’ve never used tubeless before so all new to me.

I would replace the sealant before every race.

What does this involve-do I have to take the tyre off and scrub out all the old sealant? Is there anything else or just leave the wheel sitting there until close to race day?

If you have regular races during the summer, you’re probably fine for the season (post season mop out the sealant before storing the wheel until next year). If not, going with a latex tube may be preferable (I run a vittoria latex tube in my disc that has been there for 10yrs. I test it a week before my first race just to make sure it’s still fine…never had an issue).

^^THIS…because it is especially true if you live out west where it is drier. The sealant tends to even dry up quicker. You may get only a couple months out of your entire 2 oz you put in.

What does this involve-do I have to take the tyre off and scrub out all the old sealant? Is there anything else or just leave the wheel sitting there until close to race day?

It varies dramatically depending on where you live and the (related) conditions of your bike/wheel storage. If you live someplace warm, you’re going to want to drain the sealant completely from the wheel for storage after every event. The sealant you choose to use will determine if this just means sucking it out with a syringe or taking the tire completely off. The cooler the bike storage conditions, the longer the sealant will stay liquid, the less frequently you’ll need to do this.