have you received a penality if so what was it for?
i have been racing for 31 years and just received my first penality and it was a non moving violation,
racked my bike on the wrong rack before the race started. i just thought i was in the right spot, should have looked one rack over
Back in the early 90’s I got a chinstrap DQ for undoing the buckle on my helmet before my bike was fully racked (I was standing at my rack spot). This was the first year for that rule and DQ was the only option (no time penalty).
no penalty box…but in my first half ever i got 12minutes of violations for passing on the right. i didn’t know any better AND i never saw the marshall when it happened. took my time from 5:24 to 5:36 and waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay off the podium!
Never in tri’s, plenty in hockey, but most rules in hockey are more “guidelines” than actual rules ;). Oh you cross-checked me in the back, well I’ll stick check you in the nuts while the ref isn’t looking.
Got a DQ a couple years back because my chinstrap wasn’t buckled during the race. Somehow the male side of the clip got undone from my helmet before the race started. Also, my TA was all fucked up/rummaged through. I suspect foul play.
Got a 1:00 stand-down penalty this year at DC Tri for position violation (stagger fail!). The refs weren’t enforcing the rules correctly IMO–a lot of the top bikers (of which I was certainly not one) got penalties even though they were riding clean.
once in about 14 years of triathlons/triathloning. this year at the vineman full. 6 minutes for ‘general conduct’ - peeing on the bike course. should have been a DQ but because no one reminded us of the rule during the pre-race meeting, they decided to give a time penalty instead.
Oh snap! I got a “watch your distance” warning from an official at LP this year…looked up and saw no one even remotely near me, not too sure what the hell he was talking about.
I guess I did have one official in Memphis in May try to tell me I couldn’t listen to my headphones… while I was setting up my bike in transition area an hour and 1/2 before the race. I guess you can never be too safe, probably should put my helmet on before races too just incase i fall over walking around transition.
Never any Tri related penalties in 6 years of racing.
Indoor soccer though I’ve been sent to the penalty (yes they have them) box.
First game ever I tried to slide to stop a ball, apparently that is a no-no indoor. 2 minutes in the box. Then thinking back to my hockey playing days I charged the goalie when they were outside of the box and got tossed in again for ‘being to aggressive to the goalie’.
It depends on the ref, I did the same thing and knocked the other teams goalie out. I looked at the ref and was like well what do you expect me to do not go for the puck when he’s 40’feet out of the goal and he just looked at me and was like no you’re fine. Unless you are playing pro hockey refs are all over the map on their skill level and understanding the game. I’m sure its the same thing for other sports too where there’s more grey area then tris.
I got an “Equipment Violation” at PowerMan AL. I ran out of T2 with a small towel and through it on the ground about 10’ outside transition. I did not challenge the call, but just never thought of this as littering; it’s not something I would have done 5 miles out-of-town.