Surprise! I have a 48/32 Chainring

Just switched from an 11-28 cassette with a 50/34 chainring on my tri bike to a 11-34 cassette to a 48/32 chainring.

I swapped out my cassette from an 11-28 to an 11-34 for climbing, but my bike shop blindsided me and switched my chainrings from a 50/34 to a 48/32 without telling me.

What benefits are there to switching?

I had been running a 52/36 on my 650C bike for many years. I’ve had no problems with gearing for the speeds I ride.

It’s like running a 48/33 on a 700C.

Just go here and plug in the numbers for both chainrings/cassettes

What is the terrain like where you train and race? 48x11 will get you ~31mph at 90 rpm vs 33mph with a 50x11. If you have the power to hold that speed on the flats, or have a course with a long gentle downhill, that could make a huge difference. If you are riding steep grades, having the 32x34 granny gear might be more beneficial because on the downs you’ll be coasting at 40mph+ and gearing won’t matter.

Personally, I think going past 1:1 in gear ratio is overkill for the road, but if I lived in the Alps or somewhere with long sustained climbs >10% I’d probably feel differently! We’re only talking ~5% difference in gear-inches between the two, so I’d probably just ride it and see how it works for you.

What is your crank length?

That’s gravel gearing.

It’s not ideal for TT’s, triathlon or road racing, but you could get away with.
I’d go minimum 50/11 for TT, triathlon or road racing, but more likely 52/11.

Unless you’re racing Embrunman or Alpe d’Huez triathlon, why would you want a 32-34 as easiest gear? Regarding the top end, ~45 km/h should be plenty for most (unless it’s a gentle downhill as mentioned before), but that’s on an inefficient gear. For the Taupo course I’ve gone the other way and mounted a 56-42 with an 11-30 (11 speed) at the back, just to be in a more efficient gear most of the time (~41-42 km/h on the flats).