Looking for a new Tri Bike - and very confused

Hi All,

I am new to SlowTwitch and coming back to triathlon after a 6 year break due to heavy times in work and life in which I was only exercising as a runner. Back in 2013, I purchased a Felt B16 for ~$2000, bought some racing wheels and felt pretty good about my bike set up over several long-distance races. It seems the game has really changed since then. While my income has increased in the meantime, and I could potentially budget it to buy a top end tri bike, I am wondering if it is really worth it to buy a bike set-up that totals in the 5 figure costs. I have a couple of half IM and one full IM race scheduled next year (hopefully more in the years to come) and want to be as competitive as I can without just throwing money at a bike for no extra benefit.

Specifically, here’s my dilemma: I had a bike fit last week and was recommended to buy a Quintana Roo XPR and then put the extra money into race wheels, helmet, tri suit, etc. At the same time, I have hired a coach who cautioned me against QR, as he had heard some issues with it, and recommended something more like the Trek Speed Concept. I have had others tell me the most important thing is to find something that I am comfortable on and fits me perfectly. Based on my measurements in the fitting, I could pretty much pick any brand of bike and get the right fit. However I can’t just take a bike out and ride it without already purchasing it, so I feel like I am asked to put down $5000+ on whatever I choose up front.

I really like both my bike fitter and my coach, but with differing opinions, I would love to have another viewpoint prior to pulling the trigger.

Thanks!

Quintana Roo has a 30 day (Edited) return policy. I would say get yourself a new coach.

What are your fit numbers?

Seat Height: 797
Pad X/Pad Reach: 510/555
Pad y/Pad Stack: 680