How many friends do you have?

After a year of upheaval and loss, I’m recalibrating. Part of that is an assessment of my current state. An honest eval revealed a lack of friends, especially male friends.

I have lots of people with whom I have a relationship to one degree or another but few (maybe none) that are friends in a meaningful sense.

This topic was motivated by a simple question from a therapist: who do you call, and it can’t be your wife, when you need to talk about the things that matter?

I didn’t have an immediate answer. Which means I didn’t have an answer.

So, how many friends do you have? How do you maintain the friendship? How did it start?

(This isn’t a woe is me post; more like a WTF is me post.)

After a year of upheaval and loss, I’m recalibrating. Part of that is an assessment of my current state. An honest eval revealed a lack of friends, especially male friends.

I have lots of people with whom I have a relationship to one degree or another but few (maybe none) that are friends in a meaningful sense.

This topic was motivated by a simple question from a therapist: **who do you call, and it can’t be your wife, when you need to talk about the things that matter? **

So, how many friends do you have? How do you maintain the friendship? How did it start?

Your answer should have been, “Isn’t that what I’m paying you quite a bit of money for?”

There have been a number of studies and articles written over the past few years about the “crisis” related to adult males having not enough and not as many close friends as they used to.

My therapist asked me the same.
I call my siblings, first, usually. A few friends I keep in touch with, but sporadic, maybe every few months. Locally, the friends I have, we are not that close as far as sharing that type of stuff. Casual, meetup for pub trivia, ride together, work on trails, etc. share a meal.

I have exactly one real friend… my wife.