Help me choose: first gravel wheelset

It’s finally time to outfit my “do it all” bike with a gravel/all-terrain setup. But the options are a little overwhelming. I’m a lifelong roadie and so intentionally prioritized a road config. for my “quiver killer” bike (OPEN UP; 2x 52/36 di2). I’m dipping my toes into gravel now and plan to do a local event later this fall. I hope to add in some occasional bikepacking, and would like to set up wheels and tires to cover the rugged end of the spectrum. I have no MTB experience, and so my knowledge of bikes on gravel is, shall we say: dirt poor.

I’m pretty sure I want a 650b though if the wheel/tire selection is too limited, maybe I need to reconsider. I’m on the shorter, lighter, and less powerful side of average cyclist (well, at 5’6” = avg for females).

Can you recommend a wheel (bonus for tire rec.) prioritizing:

1. no fuss. I won’t break it in a rut, seats tubeless readily, stays true, durable, comfortable, moveable. I don’t even know what high maintenance would look like, which is why I want to avoid it!

2. Plays well for lighter-riding, longer efforts without violating #1. I don’t need marginal aero gains here, but I would love to avoid moving a tank from a standstill. I’m not a powerful climber. Would the wheels really matter? Dunno, you tell me.

3. Whatever works. Alloy or carbon, any brand. I care about reliability and I prefer to consume less where possible, so used market is def. an option. Lower cost is a pro, but will go over $1000 if it makes a significant difference in the criteria above.

Recommendations ? What are the features to look for or avoid?

Which frameset do you have?

They’re not sexy, glamorous or carbon but I really like the DT Swiss GR1600 wheels. So much so, that I’ve got three sets of them in our stable, all 650b.

They are very reasonably priced (about $750), moderate weight (about 1600gr), and virtually bomb proof with DT Swiss 350 hubs.

1 Like