Go with my free Conti 5000's?

Hey all! I purchased a set of used DT Swiss Dicut 1400’s and they came with barely used Conti 5000’s, tubeless, 25mm. They’re in really nice condition. I have lots of experience with Conti clinchers, but not with their tubeless tires. I ride 28mm Pirelli P-Zero TLR’s on my road bike and really like them. I prefer 28mm tires, but I wonder if tire width/make will make any real difference to me for my Tri purposes. I’ve only done a couple of sprints, plan on an Olympic in September, and may want to try a 70.3 within the year. I’m not a super competitor, but I want to be competitive. With that in mind, is it worth spending the cabbage for a wider, maybe “faster” tire, or will the Conti I have serve my purposes?

I would think that a 25mm tire would be faster.

I would think that a 25mm tire would be faster.

Thanks. You know, me too. But I’ve been reading about how riders are moving to 28’s (I did on my roadie), so I think that’s there’s got to be a good reason. I’d like to get as fast as I can, but if switching to 28’s will make minimal gains, then I’d be disinterested.

Do you have any opinions on various tubeless makes?

no, it’s not worth spending money on new tires.

unless you’re competitive, a new set of tires in an oly can only save you so much time, same with a sprint.

save the 100+ bucks and buy yourself a nice meal, or put it towards your next flight upgrade. after doing triathlon for 15 years, the one thing i can say for sure is that equipment only matters if you’re on the pointy end. everyone else should be spending money on coaching, a dietician, hell even monthly massages probably go further than the latest greatest aero helmet.

I’m a big fan of Continental Grand Prix 5000 clincher tires with latex tubes.

no, it’s not worth spending money on new tires.

unless you’re competitive, a new set of tires in an oly can only save you so much time, same with a sprint.