Fixing a bad habit

Years ago when I started practicing better form in my swim, I got very comfortable with a four count on my breathing. The bad part of that is I got into this habit of only breathing over my right shoulder. Of course, I don’t have to explain how this could end up being a problem in open water swimming.

This year I have been making a concerted effort to breath over my left shoulder as well. It’s getting better, but it’s still not as natural feeling as the right shoulder. The best way I can describe is that when breathing over the right, everything is one fluid motion. But breathing over the left, I have to think about each movement I’m doing through the entire stroke. This ends up in a kind of jerky, uncoordinated movement, and still quite often an incomplete breath or mouth full of water.

But it’s getting better. I need to be able to breathe off both shoulders. Even if I’m still a little slower on the left. Sometimes rough water wins the day. Have to be able to accommodate. Practice, practice, practice.

I put that in the category of flip turns.

Cant teach this old dog new techniques.

It took me nearly 1.5 years of regular swimming to get my breath-left stroke to equal the speed of my breath-right stroke, and as well so that it didn’t have these weird glitches that made it hard to breathe or showed up on camera as problematic. It’s still def not perfect, but I’m now the same speed on both sides.

Sadly though, my overall top speed and race results have NOT improved from being able to bilateral breathe equally, and I find in most races I just end up breathing to the side I was initially strongest with, which is breathe-right. Still, I’m glad I learned, since at my age around 50, if I stop using it, I lose it - was shocked when I had an injury and couldn’t swim for several weeks, and when I came back I could barely crank my neck to the left to even breathe at all in the water!