Circular Breathing Torches me

Hey team -

So, something I’ve started to notice since I’ve taken training more seriously.

I can’t breathe in a circular pattern. That is, if I’m mid-run or bike and I start the in-through-nose-out-through-mouth, I immediately tank. I can run my heart rate up pretty high and continue breathing nose-only for quite a while. But, if I breathe at all through my mouth it immediately feels like I get punched in the guts, heartrate goes haywire, and I start breathing way up in my neck. I feel like this is a big limiter to endurance because literally everything says this is how to breathe, but I just can’t. Likely because I’m doing something wrong - anyone experience this?

M.

because literally everything says this is how to breathe

Have you tried… just breathing? Like without thinking about it. What happens?

because literally everything says this is how to breathe…

Wut?!

Just breathe. Don’t think about it.

I’ve been running for 30 years, have read and heard just about everything there is about running, and have never heard this. Every now and then someone says there’s a technique to breathing, runnersworld wrote a book about it, but 99% of good, bad, and average runners have never once tried a breathing technique.

I feel like this is a big limiter to endurance because literally everything says this is how to breathe, but I just can’t.

Can you provide some sourcing on “literally everything”? A quick Google search of breathing while running says exactly the opposite of what you are saying.

because literally everything says this is how to breathe

WUT?! Nobody says this is how to breathe. I can’t imagine why anyone would even attempt this. Just breathe. Naturally. Like you have done since you were born.