Canyon Aeroad CF SLX 8 - etap or Di2?

Getting ready to pull the trigger on a new Canyon Aeroad CF SLX 8. Current bike is SRAM Rival and I have no experience with electronic shifting. Which version of the bike does this forum recommend? Thanks.

Personally I say etap, although this is probably a jump ball. The color choices on the etap CF SLX are much better (in my opinion).

Di2 batteries last longer. The sram people might have reasons why they don’t like Shimano, but I never hear about Shimano dead batteries before or during a race and I hear about it from sram quite regularly. In fact, Rudy von Berg who was (apparently) dropped from sram (or maybe he left sram) even stated in his recent Florida Ironman recap that the morning of the event started with him finding out that his previously charged sram battery was dead and he had to run back to the hotel to get a new one and make sure it was charged.

I’m going to guess that based on the size of the sram battery the margin for error is a lot smaller in terms of QC, cold weather, battery longevity, etc. If I were using sram, I’d probably work a new battery into the lineup every two years (maybe annually?) just to be on the safe side and use the older one for training and the new one for races.

Getting ready to pull the trigger on a new Canyon Aeroad CF SLX 8. Current bike is SRAM Rival and I have no experience with electronic shifting. Which version of the bike does this forum recommend? Thanks.

I was always on Shimano (11speed). I have had many Shimano groupsets, I never had a problem.

Last year I did an etap 12 speed build. I chose Etap based on availability and price.
I was VERY disappointed in SRAM support. I couldn’t pair a derailleur and was left high and dry by support. Very high probability the problem is in their court. When they say “can you try an Android phone rather than you iOS”…confidence is not at an all time high.
I ended up having to buy another derailleur.