Bike touring as training: stories, thoughts, suggestions

Long time lurker, first time poster. Seen some intriguing breadcrumbs in the archives about big bike tours in the offseason (or e.g. multi-day rides to races) bringing planned or surprise fitness gains and had some experiences myself in that line, looking to do it a little more deliberately this winter, deliberating between setups (light and racy, light and racy bike with a trailer, heavy and upright and bomber) and methodologies (last trip had a lot of hotel time, would like to go cheaper and camp more this time). Interested to hear any stories/tips/inspiration you might have. Thanks!

My experience has been anything that significantly increased volume on the bike has been great! Most recent example last year I was returning from injury (5 months of no riding above recovery pace due to a meniscus tear) when I started riding with my wife who was training for an ultramarathon MTB event. Frequent weekends of 2-3 days of 7-10 hours in the saddle but not a single focussed training session, and virtually no riding above zone 2 led to me being within a couple of watts of an all time FTP. It’s not like these were noob gains - I have had a solid FTP in the past. I was amazed at how much the low intensity volume brought on my overall fitness. I have had friends who have experienced exactly the same when bike touring - high volume day in day out at low intensity will bring gains.

I have been doing this for a very long time,some trips are slow multi-week camping affairs and some are shorter, faster,motel rides. On Sept 2nd I am off on another one,a 1,600k,8 day ride from Noosa to Cairns staying in motels along the way. I am using it as training for the Laguna Phuket Tri in November. Here in Oz doing Epic Camps (borrowed from Gordo and Molinas camps) is great as so many of the small country town have pools to train in.It is amazing how good a swim session can make you feel after a hot day on the road.