Am I crazy planning to do Ironman with no plan or coach?

I guess it’s not really fair to say I have no plan. I just don’t have a written plan, and the plan that I do have doesn’t really have specifics, it’s more generalities. And I haven’t gotten a coach, haven’t even seriously considered it either.

To be fair, my goal is only to finish within the time limit. I have no delusions of placing, even in my age group. And qualifying for Kona would be totally lost on me. This is just a bucket list, “one and done” thing I’ve always wanted to do.

So generally speaking, I’ve had days where I swam 1.5-2 miles. I’ve had one day in which I actually rode a full 112 miles. But I have yet to finish a full marathon distance run. Longest I’ve had since I started training was a 13.1 in December at the Indian Wells 70.3.

I’m signed up for IMAZ this November and I feel pretty confident I can at least complete it. I already know I’m not going to be competitive, but I believe I’m physically fit enough to finish. I believe my biggest challenge will simply be maintaining hydration and nutrition for the 15-17 hours it takes me to finish.

Am I delusional?

I really wouldn’t recommend running a full marathon distance in training anyway. Sounds like you’re doing fine IMO. Wouldn’t really recommend getting a coach as someone who is just trying to finish, only place it really makes sense would be for working on some swimming.

You’re not delusional. I think it was Dev who posted on another thread about just doing x number of hours of each sport. I’m sure he’ll jump in here and lay it out for you. You’ll be more than capable of finishing within the time limit.

No not delusional. Follow Dr. Alex Harrison’s guide about fueling. Practice it on a few long bricks maybe 3 hour bike and 2 hour run a few times.

If all you are looking to do is finish you could literally stop every half hour on the bike and make sure you have good fueling and get on your way again. Nothing fancy.