70.3 Rapperswil (switzerland)?

hi all -

on a whim i’ve signed myself up for 70.3 rapperswil. anyone done it recently? any insights into the course or the day?

thanks!
-mike

I have done it 3-4x actually. What do you want to know?. In strava you can find the track.

But let me know what do you want to know :slight_smile:

all kinds of things!

-i guess i’ll take the train on race morning, and set up transition then. will that work OK?

-i don’t have my tri bike here in CH at the moment, so i’ll be riding on a road bike with clip-ons. it seems like there’s one big climb per lap, and then the rest is flat? how’s the descent? i’m hopefully going to pre-ride it this week.

-bottle hand-ups on the bike?

-the run seems weird in terms of surfaces - gravel? boardwalk? pavement? what shoes would you race in? is grip an issue?

-the stairs on the run (2x) seem fun. i usually don’t mind stairs (and prefer them to hills), but am i underestimating them?

-finally, i’ve been racing tri since 1995 (!), but this will actually be my first M-dot event. what’s the atmosphere and organization like? how would things be for my family to come and watch?

any tips from your experiences appreciated!

I did the race a few times…

swim: uneventful lake swim. Nice short run into transition. A few years back (2015 maybe?) the swim was still a water mass start. The lake was quite refreshing… so there was this pontoon from which you would jump in and then head to the start line to tread water. The motivation was so high to get into the water that the pontoon was packed to the point of it starting to sink, a few motivational words of the speaker resolved the situation…