2028 LA Olympics as a dual citizen

I’m a 21 y/o pro triathlete with aspirations of qualifying for the Olympics. I’m also a dual citizen, USA/Iran. Currently racing for USA.

Now my question is if I race for USA and get enough points to qualify for the Olympics, would I be able to change the country I represent to Iran. Realistically team USA is extremely competitive, and there is a lot of politics involved in who they choose to compete for them, and my chances of representing USA would be very slim.

So would I be able to change the country I represent for, or should I represent Iran right now as as I try to get enough points, because I wouldn’t be able to change it in the future?

no you could not change
you cant change flag once the new oly cycle has started and you raced for another fed int that oly cycle . ie if your first race in this cycle is for usa you can not change flag in this cycle and start for another fed .
if you want more info google max stapley flag change or something in the lines of that.

2 Likes

Kenji Nener changed federations; iirc there is a period of time where you have to be out of competition - you can listen to his podcast here Kenji Nener - Chasing the Burn - Apple Podcasts

1 Like

USA will have enough world triathlon points to have multipe slots on the start line in the Olympics, that others can earn for USA and you can take a chance and win a slot. Iran may not have enough points, so some athletes have to go and earn Iran points to have a starting slot at the Olympics. So it seems your path to the Olympics with Iran is uncertain because Iran may not have enough points and path with USA is certain because more good athletes than slots.

Also does Iran not force you to renounce citizenship anyway if you take the citizenship of another country? Plus if you have not done your Iranian military service that may get in the way of the entire story.

1 Like

I’m assuming you haven’t raced a World Triathlon race since the Olympics.