Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

zipp wheels
Quote | Reply
What is the difference between the 404's and the old 440's? other than weight... is the rim depth the same? also when did zipp quit making the 440's? thanks
Quote Reply
Re: zipp wheels [qrguy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Different hub as well as weight. Non dimpled wheels (starting in 05).

Quote | Reply
construction wise a bunch, functionally probaby not a whole lot that you'd notice. I'm no expert though.

construction: new rim shaping (more aero), non foam filled (lighter), no aluminum spoke reinforcement (lighter I guess), better braking track, supposedly more comfy, much lighter hub, lighter wheel as well, nice large diameter bearings for better dependability

performance: guess they are lighter which feels nice, more aero by a bit, pobably brake a bit better than the old models, maybe smoother bearings.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've had 2 sets of the 440's. One set is currently on my road bike. Its the only set of wheels I have for that bike.

The rim shape of the 404 is "bulged" instead of flat as on the 440. Bearings are different, but I can't tell any difference. My 440's have carbon hubs. The new 404 has dimples......good luck ever measuring or feeling a difference with or without dimples.

The 440's are an excellent wheel. I think they are more bomb proof then the new 404's.

Paul
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
As others have mentioned, it is a completely different wheel. Similar in design, I suppose (deep section, low spoke count). The rims are different, spokes are different (CX Ray's used now didn't exist when the 440's were around), hubs are completely different.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I suggest the newest product from Zipp will be to 'Re-issue' 440's. Like Gibson has been very successful with their re-issues of the 1959 Les Paul Sunburst and Fender with the 1957 Stratocaster.

I think Fleck said his old 440's had done very well at two races this year.