Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
upgrade my 2006 Cervelo P3C to DI2 or buy new tri bike?
Quote | Reply
I've been riding the same tri bike since spring of 2007, when I bought a 2006 Cervelo P3C.
  • Zipp 404s
  • Dura Ace 9 speed
  • Profile Design aluminum aerobars from 2011
  • Fizik Arione seat from 2015
  • Garmin Vector 1st gen power meter pedals

This has been a great bike for me, taking me through 10 IMs, 12 HIMs, etc. I've never exceeded the capabilities of the bike (avg speed mostly 18-19 mph in my races). A couple years ago I upgraded my road bike to a Specialized Roubaix with Ultegra DI2, and that spoiled me. Compact gearing, electronic shifting, smooth riding.

It's the DI2 I really want. I've looked online at a few P3C DI2 conversions and they involve drilling this and that. I asked one LBS about it, they said "cheaper to buy a new bike from us than pay us for the parts and labor to convert it".

So this is my dilemma. Upgrade my P3C to DI2 or buy a new bike, and if so what bike?
Quote Reply
Re: upgrade my 2006 Cervelo P3C to DI2 or buy new tri bike? [BruceMorgan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Have been thinking the same thing with my 2011 P2. I decided that if I did upgrade it would be to sram etap as then there would need to be no holes drilled so it would just be the $1,000 or so for the upgrade kit...... have you considered this?
Quote Reply
Re: upgrade my 2006 Cervelo P3C to DI2 or buy new tri bike? [BruceMorgan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
New bike for sure. 2006 is an old bike, not that it's not a good bike, but because it is going to be more and more difficult to get components that work. Wider wheels, wider tires, discs brakes, tubeless tires?, bottom bracket standards, drivetrains, etc etc have changed a lot in 12 years.

Then there is also the N+1 rule.

Don't drown. Don't crash. Don't walk.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply