Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

tubular or clincher, which wheels?
Quote | Reply
So, I am gathering ideas for wheels. I am thinking of either zipp 909 or hed3 with a possible renn rear.

I am kind of new to tri's (4 races), so I plan on waiting on getting fancy wheels until I am a bit faster. A friend of mine has hed deep jet wheels. He recomended getting clichers so I could use them for training too. I am ~205 now, but I will probably level off at 190-195 once the summer heat hits. (with the Hed3's I can get clinchers, zipp 909 are only tubular)

I live in Austin, so I face hills and wind regularly.

Thanks for any help you can give.
Last edited by: ramdough: Apr 13, 03 21:01
Quote Reply
Re: tubular or clincher, which wheels? [ramdough] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If you buy race wheels I very strongly recommend tubulars. There is a lot of "lore" and myth surrounding tubulars, mostly spread by people with either very little or no experience with them. A good local tri shop can give you a quick block of instruction on how to use tubular race tires and wheels. We teach a class here at Bikesport on how to stretch, glua and mount tires as well as how to fix a flat in a race. Everyone is amazed at how easy it is when we are done. Zipp, Hed and Renn are all very good wheels. My pick is the Zipp 909.

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
Re: tubular or clincher, which wheels? [Tom Demerly] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am guessing that with those wheels (tubular 909's) I should only ride them for races. Do people actually ride tubulars while training/goofing off? It would be fun to use my future wheels on my Saturday group rides.

At my weight, do you recomend clydesdale models? I imagine I won't get much below 190 ever (unless I lose a bunch of muscle mass along with my baby fat :) ).

I think someone at your store recomended the hed3's because of my weigth.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply