Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

swimming in HNL?
Quote | Reply
Hi folks, I am an airline pilot and fly through HNL occasionally.
I'd like to get a swim workout in while I'm here, or an open water swim lesson.
Can anyone recommend a person/place for this?
I've looked a little online and didn't really find what I was looking for.
Thanks in advance for your suggestions!
Quote Reply
Re: swimming in HNL? [space.monkey] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
First of all, can you land a plane with one engine?? We want to know if you would be a hero...(-;

I used to love swimming right there at Waikiki beach. I of course love going out and playing in the waves, but as I recall they have a cement pond(remember Jethro) right on the beach with salt water in it for lap swimming. As for lessons, that kind of depends on where you are starting at, ground 0 or sub 2;00 100 guy...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm not sure there's a better place to do OWS than Ala Moana Beach Park. It's basically like a giant pool.
Quote Reply
Re: swimming in HNL? [jamlo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
jamlo wrote:
I'm not sure there's a better place to do OWS than Ala Moana Beach Park. It's basically like a giant pool.

If you're just looking to hammer out 2k+ without having to sight much then yeah. If you actually want to be able to see more than 4 feet below you, then no. For Hawaii standards, Ala Moana is a toilet bowl.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Well, the Waikiki Roughwater Swim course is right there. Part of tri history right there.
Get in a good 2.4 mile swim and a jog.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Ironic, I was in Waikiki last week. I swam laps in the "enclosed" Waikiki beach area as well as in the non-protected area (off the beach in front of Dukes).
Both were great areas to swim in open water. Much more work than the lake swimming I'm used to.