Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

swimming: breathe how often?
Quote | Reply
I just started training for my first sprint. I'm curious as to how often you breathe while swim training and racing. Let's say you were at an 80% pace. Is your preference every full stroke?

Thanks for the help.
Quote Reply
Re: swimming: breathe how often? [graigcone] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If I were learning how to swim again, I'd recommend bilateral breathing every three strokes.

That being said, I probably would breathe every 2 strokes (same side breathing). Bad habits are just hard to break. :)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Personally, while racing it doesn't pay to hold your breath. This is an aerobic event after all. Breath every stroke if that is what you are comfortable with.

As for training, it would be wise to dedicate portions of your workout (maybe an 8th of your workout distance) to bilateral and/or hypoxic sets so that you can handle occasions during a race when you get a mouth full of water, need to navigate, etc.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Bilateral is the way to go. You will swim much straighter, and your body will be come much more efficient. Focus on your technique and don't worry about your speed. Relax and just stroke, the speed will come on its own. Often, in training, I breathe every fifth stroke just to get my body used to being efficient with oxygen. It takes me 16 strokes to get to the other end of a 25 yard pool, so that means 5 breaths if breathing every 3, or 3 breaths if breathing every five per pool length. I learned this way, and have always breathed this way and it works great. Your body can get used to almost anything, so train the correct way from the beginning.

----->Trent
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply