Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

question about construction of disc/carbon fiber wheels
Quote | Reply
I am a Mechanical Engineering student. For a final project in one of my classes this term I am modeling my road bike in a 3D CAD program (with some simplifications due to time constraints). If I model the wheels as disc wheels or carbon wheels like H3's I don't have to worry about as many of the details like hub flanges, bladed spokes and spoke lacing, spoke holes in the rims, etc... At least I think I don't.

Looking at Hed's and Zipp's websites hasn't provided a close look at the center of their wheels, and they don't have any full cross-section views that give me what I want to know about the construction. I am kicking myself for never taking a closer look at someone else's wheels at a race. Can anyone explain to me how the hubs are attached to the carbon discs? It's all carbon, right - not just carbon skins over spokes?

In the cutaway photo of the rim cross-section at the lower left of the URL below, what is the material between the parallel braking surfaces?

http://www.zipp.com/Wheelsets/909.html

Thanks a million!
Quote Reply
Re: question about construction of disc/carbon fiber wheels [uphiller] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply