Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
physiological vs. performance testing to determine "threshold"
Quote | Reply
In light of recent discussions on this forum, I thought this might be of interest here.

Courtesy of MoxyMonitor, for the last couple of weeks I have been playing with a couple of their devices. One thing I've tried is performing incremental exercise tests, to see how the breakpoint in the NIRS data corresponds to other ways of estimating my functional threshold power. (I just started riding again after ~5 mo off due to a crash, so am a bit unsure of my current fitness level.)

Below are the data from yesterday's test, during which I measured the amount of deoxygenated hemoglobin (HHb) in my right vastus lateralis while incrementing the power by 25 W every min until failure. I analyzed the data using a two-piece linear regression, to objectively determine the breakpoint. As shown, this turned out to be 230 W. Not coincidentally (due to the way physiology works), I have been estimating my FTP as 225 W, whereas the WKO4 modeling approach has it pegged as 220 W. If I use Ric Stern's method of estimating FTP as 73-77% of maximal 1 min power during such a test, I come up with 210-221 W. (Ric's method has always underestimated a bit for me, as I have a lower-than-average functional reserve capacity...especially now.)

So, is monitoring of physiological responses really necessary to guide training? Or is simply measuring performance, the ulitmate integration of all underlying physiological (and psychological) determinants of performance sufficient, if not better (that which gets measured, gets improved)? Discuss.

Last edited by: Andrew Coggan: Oct 5, 14 7:26
Quote Reply
Re: physiological vs. performance testing to determine "threshold" [Andrew Coggan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What's with the tri-modal data? The clumps below 65 g/Kg look to be from a totally different sub-population.