Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

oilman 70.3 (conroe, texas) mini race review.
Quote | Reply
just wanted to get this mini race review up for anyone in the future that may search for info on the race.

seems like this is the first race of this distance back in the state of texas since lockdown. "out-loud productions" put the race on and did a fantastic job, in my opinion. race felt about as close to normal as possible with covid protocols in place which the race organizers enforced as best as possible.

a pre-race swim clinic was avail the morning before the race. just a short swim for around the first 1/4 of the swim for those that want to get some water time in. i highly appreciated this as like many of us, swimming isnt my strongest discipline and the ability to get in the water ill actually be swimming in for race day settled the nerves down some. one of the local race team coaches was there for the complete noobies to help them out with stuff as simple as how to put your wetsuit on, keeping goggles not foggy, etc.

morning of / parking. if you dont need your vehicle till the race is complete you can park right by transition. if you want it sooner you have to park at the front entrance of the resort and walk or bike in about half a mile.

swim- swim is pretty basic. leave a beach area at the host resorts main "swimming hole", hang a right to head straight out to the lake, two left hand turns out in the lake then straight back to transition. the hardest part was the first right turn to the lake has you staring directly into the sun. i couldnt see any of the buoys so i sighted the trees that lined the outlet into the lake.