Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

newbie no bike
Quote | Reply
I am a newbie. I have no bike and a my first sprint in two months. All work out on steel has been done at the Y. Here is the problem. Only have $500 to spend. I live in Delaware and am looking for someone who maybe has one too many bikes in the garage and can let one go for that price. Let me know. Thanks. -----Jim (no bike) Elder
Quote Reply
Re: newbie no bike [jelder] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Best place to start... but, your starting in the wrong direction. You need to find out what kind of bike will fit you. You need to get a bike fit before you buy a bike. Finding a good experienced tri-specific bike fitter bike is the most important aspect of looking for a bike.

Spend more time looking for a who before you starting looking for a what. Find an experience bike fitter... then, find a bike that will match that fit. You seem to be going about it backwards.

Your problems not the amount of money you have. You should be able to find a decent tri-bike for $500. The problem is that you need to find out what your fit specifics are - first... you don't walk into a running store and say I just want a pair of running shoes do you? No, you ask for a specific size of shoe first... then you try it on to see if it fits. You need to do the same with a bike.

Good luck and welcome to the world of triathlons.

FWIW Joe Moya
Last edited by: Joe M: Jun 1, 03 19:27
Quote Reply
Re: newbie no bike [Joe M] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Joe, I agree 100% about what you're saying regarding bike fit but personally I wouldn't recommend a tri bike for a newbie. A road bike is far more versatile and the newbie should learn the basics of riding first. IMO the best thing he could do is get a road bike and join a roadie group. Too many tri-geeks jump from their $200. Wal-Mart mountain bike to a tri bike without learning riding skills.