Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

need a rollerski expert...
Quote | Reply
Kind of a niche topic, but I thought I would try this forum, as few of the cross country ski forums are very active. I am looking for some experts in selecting rollerskis. I am looking for a skate-type ski, and I would really love to stay at or below $300, including bindings (I am open to used rollerskis too). I have some experience skate skiing on snow, and I am trying to improve my technique. I am by no means an expert, and probably barely intermediate in my skills. That's the reason for getting the rollerskis; so I can improve my technique throughout the non-ski season. So, I am in search of the best beginner rollerski that might afford some stability. I would not be using them on the road, nor on any technical terrain. Instead, I will use them primarily on our local high school running track (smooth, flat, and debris free).

In specific:
1. Are any models available (or attributes) that have better stability over others?

2. I am seeing skate models that have the thinner, 100 mm diameter wheels, versus others with thicker, 70 mm wheels. What are the advantages or disadvantages to both?

3. I am aware that the skis can be purchased with specific wheel "speeds". My first thought was that a "slower" wheel might be good for a beginner (i.e. to not produce too much speed), but some of the product descriptions tend to describe speed in the opposite way, and suggest that faster wheels would be better for a beginner. I understand that faster wheels will allow for easier glide and less effort, but slower wheels might afford more control. Any opinions on this?

Thank you for your help.
Quote Reply
Re: need a rollerski expert... [vsigler] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Rollerskiing is a great addition to regular xc-skiing.
When it comes to skate rollerskiing, the stability will not be the skis, but your boots.