Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

long rides HR + recovery week/periodisation
Quote | Reply
At what HR should long rides be. I will do Ironman Switzerland on July 27 and plan to do the bike with a HR of about 135 (~70% max HR - do you think this is ok?).
I read that you can only race what you trained for. That means I should train (some of) my long rides at a HR of 135. Currently my long rides are at 2-3 hours. With spring coming I will increase the duration.
Should I do the long rides at an easier pace for now and go faster nearer to the IM. Or should I already train at a HR 135.

Because this is the first year where I train really serious (10+ hours) I have no experience with periodisation (recovery weeks). I plan a recovery week every 3 or 4 weeks. Often I will combine them with tapering for a race. Here are my questions:
How much of my average weekly training should I do in a recovery/easy week? I understand that I should train as frequent as in a normal week but with but shorter, easier workouts.
In my first easy easy week in March I trained about 70% of the previous weeks. But this training included a short duathlon (1h20) at the end of the week. Therefore the recovery week was only 6 days.
This week is the same as I taper for Zurich Marathon on Sunday. But I train only about 3 hours to be fully rested on Sunday.

http://www.weilenmann.ch.vu
Quote Reply
Re: long rides HR + recovery week/periodisation [felix__w] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
felix,