Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: indoor cycling training [cervelo-van] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
cervelo-van wrote:
Thanks Kevin for all the great information. I looked at your Strava profile compared to me. Um, looks like I need to get to work and climb WAY more. (Diagnosed with asthma last years, it's taken a while to get under control, so limited climbing this year)

Would you say that your regimen might differ in that you have many years of work behind you? I've been cycling for 5 years and I'm 58. I also don't race (occasional TT which I like, though it hurts like hell) and various Fondos. My bike handling skills are too poor and would endanger other racers.

As for the trainer workouts, I'm currently (November/December) doing the Trainer Road Base Mid Volume 1 which is mostly Endurance. Last year I was doing more of the Sweet Spot.

Do you think theses Base levels are too easy?

Thanks

Avg Rides / Week75Avg Distance / Week469 km275 kmAvg Time / Week17hr 20m11hr 7mYEAR-TO-DATEDistance17,614.9 km11,078.7 kmTime646hr29m450hr38mElev Gain188,303m65,015mRides345248

The key point in Kevin's training is that running and cycling are a bit different in how the body responds. You can spend the winter running pretty easy and because of the weight bearing nature of the sport, your body gets a lot of stress and adapts. Just riding around easy on the bike at "endurance" is not a very effective use of limited time on the bike. A pro racer who does stages races and 5 hour events 10 months out of the year can take some time to just putter around, knowing he'll be riding himself into shape as early as Feb in a stage race.