Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
continental gp5000 puncture resistance. good, bad, meh?
Quote | Reply
I have continental gp4000sii. Considering picking up the gp5000. according to continental the puncture resistance is better on the gp5000s. But bicyclerollingresistance.com says the opposite. I'm wondering if anybody here is running gp5000 and had any more frequent punctures than the gp4000sii?
Quote Reply
Re: continental gp5000 puncture resistance. good, bad, meh? [mickison] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've been running them on road and TT bike for several months, tubeless for both. to date, no punctures. maybe about 1000 miles so far. my road surfaces are pretty good but some glass and brambles now and again. previously, was running Schwalbe pro 1s and had several small punctures that all sealed up ok. so the 5K seem more resistant but small sample size. YMMV.
Quote Reply
Re: continental gp5000 puncture resistance. good, bad, meh? [mickison] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I don't want to jinx it, but... very happy with my switch to 5000TL from Pro One Tubeless (V1.0), at least until data are released re: the Pro One TLE.

Amateur recreational hobbyist cyclist
https://www.strava.com/athletes/337152
https://vimeo.com/user11846099
Last edited by: refthimos: Aug 30, 19 9:52
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
So far so good. Gone through broken glass, potholes, etc. No flats. Only a few thousand miles though.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If they truly improved on the GP4000sii I'd be impressed. I've been running those for years without a puncture. I probably just jinxed it though.
Quote Reply
Re: continental gp5000 puncture resistance. good, bad, meh? [mbwallis] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Yeah. I’ve had good luck with the gp4000s ii. I’m just eeking our my marginal gains. :) latex tubes. New tires (maybe) etc.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply