Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

changing groupset on old bike
Quote | Reply
i have a 12 year old CAAD9. Still ride it, but mainly as a backup or just to ride something different to my main road bike. i like that i can use 28mm tires with it whereas i can't with my tarmac so it is nice to ride on wet days. it has the original mix of 105 and ultegra. 53/39 - which i can live with, but i prefer a compact these days. Generally it is functional and low maintenance. The brakes are odd, and don't work as well as i would like - must have replaced one at some time, and it has the cables coming out perpendicular to the shifters - which are ugly and the cables seem to be everywhere. i could get a 105 11 speed, groupset for about $400 and ultegra for about $600. this would get me the gear ratio i want on a bike i quite like, along with better brakes and get rid of all the cables.

I'm not a bike mechanic. I have time on my hands, can follow instructions and would like to learn more about how the bike works,,,but i expect I'll need some help with some of the work - which will add to the cost.

Do i have to change the bottom bracket? and do i need a new rear wheel to go to 11 speed?

would you do it? or just save the $ and get a new bike? if you would...105 or ultegra
Quote Reply
Re: changing groupset on old bike [rich_m] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
rich_m wrote: