Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

cramping on the run!! PLEASE HELP
Quote | Reply
I have been racing for almost 10 years now. I seem to have a constant problem that will not go away. After transitioning to the run after my bike in a race, I cramp up. This is what some people refer to as side stitches? It is in the diaphragm area just below my rib cage area. The pain occurs on both sides and often in the middle. I have tried almost everything, from more electrolytes, to not drinking as much and almost everything else I can think of. Nothing works!!!!
When I do training bricks, this does not occur, even if I try and mock race intensity. I can train at 3/4 mile repeats at 6:20ish pace. But in a sprint tri, I'll average 8:30 mile plus.
Anyone else have this same problem and found the cure please comment.
Many thanks in advance.

Quote Reply
Re: cramping on the run!! PLEASE HELP [shimbike18] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Those are DEATH and I've had them a couple of times and they hurt for at least a week afterward. It's like having a speed governor based only on pain and not how fit you are. A year ago I did a search on ST and found very good info from past posts. The main thing I do is when coming in on the bike to T2 and at the beginning of the run, I focus hard on belly breathing, really stretching out the stomach muscles. I also do some cobra stretches as part of my warm up. As I recall from my search, they talked about a muscle that is very deep in your stomach that gets used to being contracted while on the bike and then it has a hard time stretching out for the run. Another recommendation was to take a little extra salt the day before your race.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply