Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Continental tubulars. I can't get air in one of them. Help?
Quote | Reply
I have Continental Competitions glued to my 808's and they have worked great for the first 2 months (I'm new to tubies). Last week, I went to race and I couldn't get air in the rear tire. I attach the pump to the valve extenders and it's like pushing against a brick wall. Any advice on how to get some air in in it?
Last edited by: runsliderrun: Aug 27, 07 7:43
Quote Reply
Re: Continental tubulars. I can't get air in one of them. Help? [runsliderrun] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
I have Continental Competitions glued to my 808's and they have worked great for the first 2 months (I'm new to tubies). Last week, I went to race and I couldn't get air in the rear tire. I attach the pump to the valve extenders and it's like pushing against a brick wall. Any advice on how to get some air in in it?

The valve on the tube is stuck. Either it's actually closed or it's just "stuck" (that's why one usually taps a Presta valve prior to inflation). Stick a spoke or other skinny object all the way down in the extender to push the valve open. If you can't, it might have closed. Is there air in the tire now?

----------------------------------
"Go yell at an M&M"
Quote Reply
Re: Continental tubulars. I can't get air in one of them. Help? [runsliderrun] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
first, congrats on what I think is the best tire/wheel set up there is.

A couple of things. Did you permanently open the value screw b/f puttung on the extenders and mounting the tires? I do this by flatting the last few threads on the valve screw and then forcing the screw to the end. Of course, if you didn't do that it would require taking the tires off and remounting them.