Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Zwift question re zPower
Quote | Reply
I am very new to Zwift having just started using it seriously at the beginning of the year. I have yet to do an actual race, just group rides and solo rides around various worlds. Every once in awhile I look at the description of a race and see this sentence:

Quote:
In order to make the racing as fair as possible, racers on zPower, lacking heart rate monitors, riding and inappropriate category, or riding very unrealistically may be disqualified.

What exactly does the part that I put in bold mean? I'm registered on Zwift Power - is that the same thing? Am I doing something wrong for when I eventually do sign up for a proper race?

Thx.
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift question re zPower [logella] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
logella wrote:
I am very new to Zwift having just started using it seriously at the beginning of the year. I have yet to do an actual race, just group rides and solo rides around various worlds. Every once in awhile I look at the description of a race and see this sentence:

Quote:
In order to make the racing as fair as possible, racers on zPower, lacking heart rate monitors, riding and inappropriate category, or riding very unrealistically may be disqualified.

What exactly does the part that I put in bold mean? I'm registered on Zwift Power - is that the same thing? Am I doing something wrong for when I eventually do sign up for a proper race?

Thx.

No, zPower (as opposed to Zwift Power) is used if you don’t have a power meter or smart trainer. Zwift is estimating your power based on a speed sensor which is reading your rear wheel speed, combined with a power curve from your dumb trainer. It doesn’t apply if you have a power meter or smart trainer.

Swimming Workout of the Day:

Favourite Swim Sets:

2020 National Masters Champion - M50-54 - 50m Butterfly
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply