Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Zwift newbies thread (6 weeks and less) [Dgconner154] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have been running trainerroad and zwift simultaneously for close to 2 years now on two setups at the same time (wife and I both have wahoo kickrs).

I do either:
Bluetooth connection from kickr to trainerroad on Android phone (erg mode).

ANT+ connection from kickr to laptop with dongle for zwift (power pairing only, not controlling).

Or:
Bluetooth to Apple iPad/apple tv for zwift and ANT+ to phone for trainerroad.

In either case you need two devices, one for TR and a separate one for zwift. Hope that makes sense.
Last edited by: JStirfry: Apr 23, 20 19:52
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift newbies thread (6 weeks and less) [JStirfry] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
For the "controller" option in Zwift do you just not select the trainer to make sure TR controls it and not Zwift?
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift newbies thread (6 weeks and less) [TriNewbieZA] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
TriNewbieZA wrote:
For the "controller" option in Zwift do you just not select the trainer to make sure TR controls it and not Zwift?

That's how I do it.

I have a laptop running TR. That connects to my Kickr and Power Meter via ANT+.

I have a second laptop running Zwift. I have that connect ONLY to my Power Meter via BT. I leave the controllable trainer disconnected.

This way TR controls my workout, and Zwift is just there for entertainment.

I only ever do this when I am riding in a "meetup" with friends but also have a structured workout to do. If I have a regular structured workout and I am not planning to ride with anyone, I just let Zwift do it. In fact, Zwift is better than TR in this respect since Zwift pulls the workout from Training Peaks without any extra action on my part (vs having to manually download a .erg file, putting it into TR's workout creator, and loading it into TR after).