Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Zwift Weight Doping
Quote | Reply
I know this has been discussed ad nauseum, but I'm new to Zwift and noticed some odd feedback post-ride this morning.

I have a friend on Strava that rode the same route this morning. I did FTP Builder and rode 6 extra miles to reach my miles goal for the morning. He did 45 miles of the 6 mile ride that I did on the same route. We put out identical speed at 20.4mph. His watts were 168w. My watts were 194w. I weigh before every ride and measured 5'9" 154lbs. He is 6'2". To produce the same watts per kilo he would have to weigh around 132lbs. A mutual friend told me he weighs about 185lbs. I thought wtf...

Perhaps he just hasn't updated his weight and doesn't care. You're really cheating yourself if you don't dial in the algorithm for rides with accurate inputs.

On the other hand, these people are cheating the zwift platform by not providing accurate information. One guy was red flagged this morning just cruising along at 9.6 watts/kg. Nothing to see here.

I am glad IM VR requires pictures of weigh ins for their championship series. This virtual racing and training should be fair, especially racing.
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift Weight Doping [mwanner13] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Do you know what type of ride he did his on? Was it a group ride or race? (probably not race at 168w) Drafting makes a big difference in speed. Also, what bike did you use, and what bike did he use? If neither was done in a group ride, and there was very minimal drafting, then the TT bikes will be faster than the regular bikes. Was it a flat course, or hilly course? If it was flat course, then watts matters more than w/kg, so his weight wouldn't be as relevant on a flat course. So if he was in a group ride, and had a good draft, it seems reasonable that he would be able to match your speed on 30 less watts. Or he could be weight doping. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Quote Reply