Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Zipp super9 fail
Quote | Reply
Last Saturday I rode IM Vitoria bike course in preparation for the race (whenever it will be, but that is another story...). I had a brand new Zipp super 9 sitting around waiting for a race to finally happen, so I thought it would be a good idea to give it a try. I setup the wheel tubeless and threw in a 11-28, and was good to go.

I uneventfully rode 135k, and when I came off the bike I found this damage in the disc (see images).

No impact or rub signal, just this carbon failure, looks to me that it is a wheel defect. I contacted the seller and I am now waiting for a reply from Zipp's rep.

I have no experience with wheel failure, and wonder if the disc is now safe to ride (I'd say it is not). Has any of you seen this happen before? what could be the cause? Do you think it is safe to ride?

In case you are wondering, I am 79kg, Âż174 lbs?, so well within the weight limits :-)

Sr. Salitre
Quote Reply
Re: Zipp super9 fail [SrSalitre] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm no expert but that looks rough. More than just whatever the exterior is peeling. I'd stay off until you hear from Zipp.

Benjamin Deal - Professional - Instagram - TriRig - Lodi Cyclery
Deals on Wheels - Results, schedule, videos, sponsors
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I don't think that is structural. I'll bet it got banged somewhere . . . maybe transition area. So sorry that happened to you.

David
* Ironman for Life! (Blog) * IM Everyday Hero Video * Daggett Shuler Law *
Disclaimer: I have personal and professional relationships with many athletes, vendors, and organizations in the triathlon world.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
that looks impact related, but i'd wait to hear from zipp before riding.
Quote Reply
Re: Zipp super9 fail [realbdeal] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks! Fortunately I am in no hurry to ride the wheel, I don't expect to race until late may at best.

Sr. Salitre
Quote Reply