Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Yoga for Sports
Quote | Reply
In an attempt to deal with my recurrent injuries, mostly due to me being not flexible at all, not stretching much if at all, I've decided to attend Yoga/Meditation classes...
First class yesterday...average age is about 50...most of them women.
Well, I SUCK big time...was by far the least flexible person in the room, my postures were probably all looking very awkward (well, I know they were)...there is quite a long way to go!!

And forget it!!! You will never see any pictures of me doing yoga!! but if others have done yoga to help improve their performance and more generally, their well-being, I'd like to hear comments/opinions.
Quote Reply
Re: Yoga for Sports [Francois] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Take away the philosophy and meditation and yoga basically is stretching. I've been doing yoga stretches regularly for 30 yrs and contribute that to why I've had relatively few injuries. Not enough triathletes work on their flexibility IMO.
Quote Reply
Re: Yoga for Sports [cerveloguy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
well taking away philosophy and meditation from Yoga is like taking a bike and removing the wheels and handlebars...it's not a bike anymore ;-)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Uhm, I think what you seek is more Pilates than Yoga classes.

Pilates has all the benefits of Yoga for triathlete but without all that spiritual junk ;)

http://twitter.com/krepster || http://www.pedro-gomes.com || follow all the action on facebook
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I started doing yoga about a month ago. Not going to classes, but just watching this one-hour show in the mornings called Inhale (it's at 6am on Oxygen... i had to swallow some pride to watch Oxygen...).