Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Would Tri 101 grow bigger if it was 2/88/10 (OK, it would be tri100)
Quote | Reply
I kinda posted about this way back when they announced the series. Looking from the outside and having not participated, these are just comments.

Now, keep in mind that I do product marketing for a living. Introducing new products is a tricky thing. If you are a startup company (which the 101 series is), it is even harder. If you are competing in a market against a big incumbent (NAS/WTC bohemoth) with an established customer base it gets even harder. The smart money says that you want to differentiate your product sufficiently to address a slightly different market need from what the incumbent is servicing. I'm not sure that 101 offers lots of differentiation...feel like they are to some extent taking on the established offerings head on.

A distance of 2/88/10 (all miles)...or even 2/90/8, seems like it would fit a better niche. Here is why. Compared to other established triathlons, this format offers a so called "unbalanced" format. Pretty well most triathlons come down to the run. You have to be a good runner to do well. I come from a running background, so I've always like the fact that non runners cannot hide their run weakness in the final leg...especially when you got up to 13 miles...you really can't fake those last 6 miles! However, the demographic of triathlon is changing. Fields are become older. Moreover, the profile is going away form more of the "hard core racer, often with great running genetics" to "participant" likely not from a "natural runner" stock.

If I survey many long course athletes that I have spoken with, their thought is, well, if I am going to do that much training, I may as well do an Ironman...and there you have it....101 is competing head to head for mindshare and $$$ with the same guy who is thinking Ironman and likely that Mdot tatoo.