Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Who's doing Rev3 Quassy?
Quote | Reply
I'm on the fence about racing , this would be my forth consecutive race at Quassy but given the fact they are doing both Olympic and Half (I usually race the Half) on the same day makes me reluctant (for safety purposes) to spend $500 (lodging and entree fee) for a potentially crowded race (not withstanding pre-race/post race) . Rev3 does an excellent race year after year but part of me just thinks this could end up being a stressful weekend.
Quote Reply
Re: Who's doing Rev3 Quassy? [JTNY] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm doing the Olympic, although I have never done either option in this event before. It's effectively a hometown race for me so I have no outside requirements for lodging etc.... which lowers the stress and potential downside.

From the schedule it looks like the Oly is going off 35 minutes (first wave to first wave) before the Half, but the bike course does appear to be identical for the first 13mi before Half diverges and keeps going north, so I suppose it is possible to get some crowds if the fast swimmers of the Half catch up to the back end of the Oly. Looks like last year they had 30 minutes worth of waves, but as both races are on the same day I would think they may compress that so there is more than 5 minutes in between the last Oly and first Half group.

Best of luck!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Funny you ask...have been on the fence (for some of the reasons you describe) and decided today to pass this year. Have done it three years in a row and have enjoyed but the idea of having half and oly on same day seemed like a bad idea to me. also, those hills.... :)
problem now is looking for another race around that time in the the area.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
JTNY wrote: