Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
What do you do for a living?
Quote | Reply
How many hours a week are you able to train and what do you do for a living? I would like to find a career that I can train at a high level even though I can't make money doing triathlon. I have a biology degree and am considering teaching high school, but wanted to get some feedback on what others have done. Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: What do you do for a living? [castafari] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You certainly won't gain wealth by being a teacher. But it seems to me it affords a pretty decent schedule for training at a high level.

But really, you can do a lot even around a normal 9-5 work schedule (okay, maybe 7-3).

And to answer your question, I'm an engineer with a commercial aerospace company. My schedule is pretty flexible, but it's based around a 7-3:30 main time frame, and I do a lot of my training at lunchtime. I'm not even remotely interested in IM, so big training numbers aren't all that important to me. I put in about 12-15 hours a week in peak though.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Some are born to move the world to live their fantasies...

https://triomultisport.com/
http://www.mjolnircycles.com/
Last edited by: brider: Nov 30, 06 8:44
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Do what you need to do and Hustle....

Just make sure you feed your family before you do that long bike..... LOL
Quote Reply
Re: What do you do for a living? [brider] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I work 6am-2pm and do some coaching on the side.

I can get 10hrs a week...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
College student! Very conducive to training.

I tutor a couple hours a week. Not making a living... but right now it's fun.

maybe she's born with it, maybe it's chlorine
If you're injured and need some sympathy, PM me and I'm very happy to write back.
disclaimer: PhD not MD
Quote Reply